Home

img_1619
It has taken me so many years

to find happiness.

To dress the way I want to dress and

to live the life I want to live.

No more black.

No more sensible shoes.

A flirtatious Tibetan hat rainbow tinted

an indecently short skirt and crossed legs

hi-lighting mustard tights

seducing the eye downward

to emerald open sandals.

You see I have learnt to take risks.

Now I love dancing

especially with my young lover

who during the Tango begs me to hold her tighter

and tells me to the beat of the music

She loves me. LOVES me! Loves ME!

Now I have reason to smile and

Now I have reason to smile and

I feel proud of the woman I am becoming…

Feisty!                   Free!

much                     more

than                       only

The Poet in the Corner.

 

Centre Stage was inspired by Keith Tyson’s The Poet in the Corner.

Hilary Howard  moved from London to Brighton in 2010 – a dream she was able to fulfil upon retirement – and has thoroughly enjoyed participating in the New Writing South Advanced Poetry Workshop and many Drawn To The Page workshops. She is trying to write a series of poems on her childhood in Ramsgate.

Leave a Reply

