Home

littlematchseller1902

Twixt Two Worlds where the Match Seller sits.
By Pam Knapp

There are thousands of me
Here, there’ll only ever be one:
The screen me.
The screen me’s dream me.

I watch as the screen me lights the match.
I envy her.
I have never lit a match: too prized, too precious.
It’s a dream screen match.
It’s the screen me’s dream match.

I watch the screen me as she eats from a filmy table.
I envy her.
I have never eaten from a table so plentiful, so replete.
It’s a screen dream table.
It’s the screen me’s dream table.

I watch the screen me sleep and rise with Gabrielle.
I envy her.
I never saw an angel.
It’s a screen dream angel.
It’s the screen me’s dream angel and she never came for me.

Pam Knapp’s poem was inspired by the short 1902 film: ‘The Match Seller’. She was inspired by New Writing South to work on her first award winning text. Poems have been the driving force of sanity in her life and November 2014 is the year the world gets to share her work. Follow her ‘one a day poetry’ for your own delectation at: http://www.countonwords.wordpress.com

One thought on “Where The Match Seller Sits – Pam Knapp

Leave a Reply

